Only One New Year’s Resolution

How I plan to double down on my biggest weakness.

Willi Wiedergold
3 min readJan 5, 2020

My biggest weakness is writing. Oh, the irony is perfect.

For the last couple of years, I have been working for software companies as a product manager. I quickly realised that one of the most important skills is precise communications in all imaginable forms.

Every day I work on all sorts of documents. Mails, user stories, concept drafts etc. So writing is one of the tools that I have to use to do my job right. The problem is: I realised that I am simply not good at communicating with written words. Besides some basic issues like spelling, grammar and punctuation, I also tend to write down only half of the idea, that I try to communicate. Forcing the reader to guess the other half, to make sense of it. Especially in the context of software development, being imprecise and leaving space for interpretation is something you should try to avoid.

To get better at my job, I decided to double down on my biggest weakness. I created a little plan and tried to use implement some tactics I learned from being a product manager, to make this little project a success story.

Rules for my new year’s resolution:

  1. Make it a priority. Priority is singular. There is only one and it’s the most important…

--

--

Willi Wiedergold

Product Lead & Investor in the Creator Space. Writing about the Creator Economy, Product Management and Investing. More on https://twitter.com/WWiedergold